Author Topic: Engine knocking  (Read 8621 times)

Subbu-500

• Bulleteer
  • I am like....no big deal!
on: February 18, 2015, 07:26:20 pm
Hello guys,
It has been some time since i last posted anything on the site. Mostly coz my 2014 Standard 500 (Carb) has been running well. The odo stands at a little over 7k kms and for the last month or so i hear the engine knocking sound every time i slow down and accelerate (moderately hard) :(. Don't know if this is a serious issue as the bike is just over 7 months old. I am pretty sure it is the knocking sound. The worst part is that it happens in all the gears except 1st. I have very little knowledge about this. I guess knocking usually happens when an engine is reved hard under load and in a higher than idea gear. Please educate me of any other reasons this can happen! It is kind of disappointing for a 500 cc motor :(. Will upgrading the spark plug to NKG or the likes help here?
Subbu
2019 Interceptor
2014 B5(Carb)

Vince

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: February 18, 2015, 10:11:56 pm
     There is a decompress mechanism built into the exhaust cam of the unit engine to ease starting. A lot of them rattle or knock at low RPM. That is probably all it is. Check with your dealer to be sure.

Arizoni

• Grand Gearhead
  • "But it's a dry heat here in Arizona
Reply #2 on: February 18, 2015, 11:13:39 pm
Subbu:
Perhaps you already know this but the new UCE engine doesn't like to run very slowly like the old Royal Enfield engines did.

It is really happiest when running faster than 2500 rpm and trying to accelerate with the engine running slower than that can result in pinging (pinking) or knocking noises.  I suspect this is the cause of the sound you notice.

Changing the spark plug will have no effect on this but trying a higher octane fuel might help.
Jim
2011 G5 Deluxe
1999 Miata 10th Anniversary

Subbu-500

• Bulleteer
Reply #3 on: February 19, 2015, 03:07:09 pm