Author Topic: Snapped a bolt on oil filter casing  (Read 3464 times)

Neeil

• Scooter
on: June 22, 2014, 03:37:44 am
Hi all,

First time motorcycle owner of a 2014 Bullet Electra 500 G5 Deluxe. Went to do my first 300 mile oil change and over-tightened one of the bolts on the oil filter housing.

It sheared off really close to the head, nearly flush against the casing. Not sure what to do about this, any suggestions for getting this out?

Looks like I'm not the first dummy to do this, but it's my first time!

2014 Bullet 500 G5 Deluxe

High On Octane

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: June 22, 2014, 03:49:48 am
A left hand drill bit about 2/3 to half the size of the diameter of the bolt should take it right back out.  Use a center punch on the stud to make sure you don't damage the threads in the engine case.

Scottie J
2001 Harley Davidson Road King

Ducati Scotty

• Grand Gearhead
  • 2010 Teal C5
Reply #2 on: June 22, 2014, 04:05:33 am
If you have a dremel and there's enough sticking out, just cut a slot and use a screwdriver.

Scott

azcatfan

• Grand Gearhead
  • 2002 Bullet ES
Reply #3 on: June 22, 2014, 04:10:49 am
Craftsman EZ-out has helped me on things like this.  A very good $10 gift to yourself.   8)

About 3:45 in he uses a similar device...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K34RS6M11uw
-2002 Bullet ES Up-Jetted with Ace Air Canister and punched HD Exhaust.

My MotoVlog Channel:  http://tinyurl.com/nnso3av

Arizoni

• Grand Gearhead
  • "But it's a dry heat here in Arizona
Reply #4 on: June 22, 2014, 06:27:15 am
All of the above answers are good ones.

Another way a freshly installed bolt in a new hole can be removed is with a fairly large nail and a hammer.

Place the point of the nail half way between the center of the bolt and the outside threaded area.  It must be on solid metal, not close to the thread.