Author Topic: Clutch Cable Replacement/Bodge (C5)  (Read 3081 times)

spooka

• Scooter
on: March 24, 2014, 07:47:32 pm
Hi Guys,

Spooka here writing in from the Ivory Coast! I was hoping to tap you guys for some tips!

After about 24,000km's of Europe and West Africa the stock clutch cable has decided to let go today. I tried to replace it on the road with a spare that I was carrying. But, given that I've never done this before and am a complete mechanical greenhorn I had some issues...

The pack from Hitchcock's came with cables in plastic sheathes but no instructions, so I improvised. I clipped the end off one of the cables and slid it out of it's own sheath (does this sheath serve a purpose!?) and through the existing cable conduit still in place. All good, but then there was no way (that I could see) to affix the connection to the pivot at the transmission end. The thing was just sliding up and down the cable. The crowd that had arrived had some choice recommendations, all involving some terrible bodges, but I was convinced that there was a better way and that I just wasn't seeing the solution.

After sitting on my hands for an hour I had no solutions. Just frustrations. So, in the end, I bodged it by putting a kink in the cable at the transmission end after the "stopper" to hold it in place and stop it sliding and then tied a knot. Photo's of the bodge attached for your consideration and amusement. It's the gold piece, the "stopper" that I can't affix...

So, what was I actually meant to do to do a proper job? Find a welder or a solder? Or was there in fact a solution there somewhere to make the "stopper" sit still without having to result to bodges?

Any help (especially the quick variety!) would be hugely appreciated!

Thanks again guys,
Spooka

suitcasejefferson

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: March 24, 2014, 08:26:31 pm