Author Topic: Weak point of iron bullet ? ?  (Read 10646 times)

bobblehead76

• rider in north carolina
  • Scooter
  • 08 Military
Reply #30 on: July 14, 2008, 10:38:16 pm
Hot in India? The weather heat is not the problem it's the engine heat. In India there not going as fast as us in the states(we have more open rodes) And they go by kpm not mph. 
     More oil flow or a oil cooler would help alot . the cooler the engine the better it will run.
      I'm wondering if i could just use the drain plug  and put a tee fitting on it. Run a line from the tee to a oil cooler and the other end to the pump hosing and tap a 1/4 fitting into it.    It might work? I'm no engineer but that would give it the pressure and cool oil from the pump and put it right back into the sump.
Bobblehead76

baird4444

• Grand Gearhead
  • 2003 ES 500... 38,416 miles, I'm done
Reply #31 on: July 15, 2008, 10:41:36 am
Hot in India? The weather heat is not the problem it's the engine heat. In India there not going as fast as us in the states(we have more open rodes) And they go by kpm not mph. 
Huh???   you would have a lot harder time over heating a Bullet in the dead of winter in Michigan...      I've  had a temperature gauge on my oil tank for years now and I can tell you this-  normal oil temperature in the tank will be twice the outside air temperature.
EXAMPLE-
if it is 70 out; the tank temp will run 140...
if it is 90 out; the tank temp will run 180...
   I have never seen 200 or higher which means It doesn't get to 100 degrees here in Illinois very often.

KPH...   you may be onto something...  I'm going to get one of those SMITHs english
speedos that read in KPH...  it will have the look I want and my bike will run cooler...
    just thinking out loud...  Mike in central Illinois
'My dear you are ugly,
 but tomorrow I shall be sober and you will still be ugly'
 - Winston Churchill

northshore_paul

• Bulleteer
  • Remember...all roads come to an end mon ami.