Author Topic: How much oil!  (Read 13506 times)

MtthwFrnswrth

• Scooter
on: January 18, 2014, 04:05:04 am
I'm doing my first oil change by myself on my 2012 C5 and I cant seem to find an explicit answer in my manual as to how much oil I should put in. I followed this youtube video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uo0IW8JVS_I

At the end it says 1.7 liters but in my owners manual it says my engine oil tank capacity is 2.75 litres. I wanted to double check. I realize this is a total noobie question and apologize for that. Thanks for your help!

MF
« Last Edit: January 18, 2014, 04:23:04 am by MtthwFrnswrth »

JVS

• Grand Gearhead
  • I love chicken
Reply #1 on: January 18, 2014, 05:40:23 am
Make sure you're changing the oil with the bike on a flat surface, on the centerstand. Because even the slightest difference in the angle of the bike affects the level of oil that is seen on the sight-glass.

The capacity of the oil tank is 2.75 litres. However, when you drain the oil, some of it stays in parts of the engine and even the left hand side. Not 100% of it is drained. Typically, members put in around 1.6~1.8 litres of new oil.

For best results, go for a 20-30min (if possible) ride to warm the oil enough. Because in the cold weather, having the bike on for 2 mins on idle isn't really going to lighten the oil that much. Then drain the oil as shown in Singh's video and sway the bike left and right to get the maximum oil out. Even back and forth a bit and apply the front brake abruptly. Buy a 2 litre container from any of your local stores and just measure how much of the existing oil came out. Then re-fill the same amount with the new oil back in the engine. Watch the sight-glass. Once you've re-filled the same amount, bring the level of the oil just a bit above the middle of the sight-glass.