Author Topic: Replacing Warning Lights  (Read 3465 times)

young gun

• Bulleteer
on: January 04, 2014, 08:54:18 pm
Hi all,

I'm replacing my warning lights on my bike with these guys (see attachment) that I purchased from hitchcocks. I'm still pretty new to riding a bike and although I'm getting better I do forget to cancel the indicators from time to time. I'm hoping that by replacing the light it may make the indicator warning light actually usable, my current one I can't see during the day. If this doesn't help then I'll look at installing a buzzer.

Has anybody installed this style of light before? On the site it mentions drilling the casquette? I'm hoping to just replace the actual warning lights in the speedometer. How easy is it to get to the speedo? I've searched the net with no results and the Snidal manual only has a very brief mention of the casquette itself.

I'll tackle this tomorrow morning but I always believe it's best to ask for advice before taking on a job I know nothing about :)

Arizoni

• Grand Gearhead
  • "But it's a dry heat here in Arizona
Reply #1 on: January 04, 2014, 10:56:23 pm
I get into my casquette by loosening the screw at the top of the headlight.  That allows the entire headlight to be tipped out and lowered.

The bulbs are held into the bottom of the speedometer by being pushed into rubber sleeves.  It is rather easy to pull them out but if you do this, pull them using the metal lamp holder, do not pull on the wires.
Jim
2011 G5 Deluxe
1999 Miata 10th Anniversary

young gun

• Bulleteer
Reply #2 on: January 05, 2014, 09:11:12 am
Thanks Arizoni,

Ok scratch that, these aren't the correct units and it's not going to be the simple task I hoped to "just" get to the speedo.

I'll need to see if I can get those LED replacement bulbs from Superbrightled.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2014, 09:15:18 am by young gun »

ERC

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #3 on: January 05, 2014, 01:23:56 pm