Author Topic: Oh-Oh Am I In Trouble?  (Read 2169 times)

TomJohnston

• Scooter
on: December 31, 2013, 12:46:05 am
Okay ! Break it to me gently guys/Gals!! I just took delivery on my 2014 C5. Nice ! However, now I find the Enfields Forum and am inundated by horror stories of riders stranded all over the world because their RE's have died a premature electrical death. I've been riding for 44 years, mostly old BMW's and this was supposed to be my first NEW bike since 1981 and hopefully a minimum of worries. Can I hope that the  new factory and "evolution" of the bike means I'll be okay or are the problems you find  carried over to the newer models as well ???  I know the ride will be great but am I going to regret this move?? When you mention problems, I don't see a lot of reference to the year of the bike involved !

sven trials

• Scooter
Reply #1 on: December 31, 2013, 01:12:47 am
I bought a used C5 and was concerned about the stories also.  I did a once over of the electrical and decided to replace the positive on the battery cable and a battery replacement.   All else looked fine. Do a check yourself for it sounds like you have enough time on a bike to know where problems can occur. BTW my bike is a 2009 with about 4k miles.

azcatfan

• Grand Gearhead
  • 2002 Bullet ES
Reply #2 on: December 31, 2013, 01:15:40 am
Welcome! Your C5 questions can get their best attention in the UCE section of the forum. 

To settle your concerns, keep in mind that people often  go to a forum when they're having issues. Therefore the forums will more often have stories of break downs and getting stranded and are looking for help.

It's good to learn about potential issues, but spend some time in the sections of the forum where owners are enjoying their rides and customizing their bikes.

Congrats on the bike, and that's a great wife you got there...
-2002 Bullet ES Up-Jetted with Ace Air Canister and punched HD Exhaust.

My MotoVlog Channel:  http://tinyurl.com/nnso3av