Author Topic: is the dealer charging me too much?  (Read 5240 times)

h4re@hotmail.com

• Scooter
on: September 05, 2013, 05:46:35 am
i went to the royal enfield dealership today in san bernardino california. the bullet 500 b5 was listed at $5999.00 USD. after tax, freight charge,set up, doc fee, dmv fee etc, the total came out to $7974.62. the sales man said he would work with me on the price. how much should i be paying for the bike? how much discount can i push for? i am new to buying bikes so i dont know what the range is as im only used to buying cars. i have found that car dealers give huge discounts off the msrp, but i dont know if the same applies to bikes?

Blltrdr

• Grand Gearhead
  • cycle-delic music
Reply #1 on: September 05, 2013, 06:22:14 am
I would call some other dealers and see if they will give you pricing.
2003 Classic 500 5 spd
2009 HD FLHT Police 103 6 spd
1992 Kawasaki ZG 1200 Voyager XII

walken4life

• Bulleteer
  • 2002 Bullet Deluxe
Reply #2 on: September 05, 2013, 01:44:37 pm
I guess I would wonder if the nebulous list of additional costs included the CA state sales tax.  Looks to be 7.5%, which works out to $450.  Do you have a better itemized list?

Maybe someone from California can shed more light on the registration fees, etc., that apply out there.  That being said, it does seem like an awful lot over list price for the final cost.  I would take Blltrdr's advice and get a quote from another California RE dealer.  That should give you the best apples to apples comparison.

Something important to consider also is the dealership's reputation when dealing with RE's.  Do they do a good initial setup, have Service personnel experienced with these bikes, responsive to warranty claims, etc.  If someone else on the forums has dealt with them they could give some valuable insights.  Is it Douglas Motorcycles?  That is the only dealer I see for San Bernadino.  The complete list of California RE dealers can be found here: