Author Topic: Short term exhaust repair solutions?  (Read 5556 times)

gashousegorilla

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #15 on: July 15, 2013, 11:06:05 pm
Also, you can go to any body shop in your area and just tell them you need some scrap sheet metal to practice on and I'm sure they'll have a few fenders or something laying around.  That way you can tear up scrap metal practicing as opposed to tearing up your exhaust.  If you plan on going this route and need some pointers on how to weld properly, send me a PM.  I've been welding and doing custom fab work for about 7 years.  Actually, I started welding way before that, but I got pretty damn good about 7 years ago.    ;)

Scottie

Yup.... easy peezy with a little practice.  Steady hand is the key and bracing your work . And wear a mask under your Hood !! That Flux wire is nasty stuff to breath in..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kI7GOVrB33c
« Last Edit: July 15, 2013, 11:09:11 pm by gashousegorilla »
An thaibhsí atá rattling ag an doras agus tá sé an diabhal sa chathaoir.

Arizoni

• Grand Gearhead
  • "But it's a dry heat here in Arizona
Reply #16 on: July 15, 2013, 11:12:30 pm
If anyone is interested I found some information about "JB Stick".

"Product Description :
Epoxy Adhesive, Wet/Dry, Dark Gray, 2 oz, Stick, Temp 300 F, Application Time 20 Min, Full Cure 2 to 30 Min, Shear Strength 1000 PSI, Bonds Ferrous and Non Ferrous Metals, Pewter, Porcelain, Ceramic, Marble, Glass, PVC and ABS, Concrete, Fiberglass, Wood, Fabric, Paper and Many Porous and Non Porous Materials, For Repairing and Bonding Heavy Duty, Automotive, Home, Industrial, Farm and Marine Situations
Type : Waterproof, Petro, Chemical, and Acid Resistant, Size : 2-Oz. Stick, Temp. Range : Up to 500 Degrees F, Full Cure : 60 Min., Application : For Repairing and Bonding Heavy Duty, Automotive, Home, Industrial, Farm and Marine Situations "

And JB High-Heat Epoxy Putty Stick

"Product description: