Author Topic: Greetings from the Commonwealth of Virginia  (Read 3342 times)

Catbird

• Grease Monkey
on: July 06, 2013, 12:50:38 am
I just joined this forum, so thought I'd jump right in and start posting.

Although I'm new to the Royal Enfield brand of motorcycles, I'm not new to riding -- I bought my first bike, a Honda CB350 twin, back in 1973.  I currently have a 2005 BMW R1200RT and a Vespa scooter GTS300 and just placed my order for a 2013 Royal Enfield Military.  Other than a short demo ride at the RE dealer's, I must confess that I really don't have any experience with these bikes but I love the vintage, old-school look.

I am most curious about one thing...
As I started my online RE research a few weeks ago, it seems like the vast majority of pre-owned REs "for sale by owner" are several years old, have very low mileage and most have had at least two owners.  Compared to other bikes I have or had in the past, this seems odd to me.

Can someone please explain this to me?
1972 Honda CB350 twin - sold
1976 Honda GL1000 Goldwing - sold
1996 BMW R1100RT - sold
2005 BMW R1200RT - sold
2011 Vespa GTS 300
2013 Royal Enfield C5 Military
2014 Honda CTX700N DCT
2014 Honda CB1100

ace.cafe

• Grand Gearhead
  • World leaders in performance/racing Bullets
Reply #1 on: July 06, 2013, 01:48:15 am
It comes down to the fact that many owners of the older Bullets did not want to spend all the long time for slow riding during the break-in period, and so they parked the bike. Even if they did the full break-in, the bikes don't really handle interstate highway speeds, so they don't fulfill the expectations of many people who bought them without knowing this.
So, they end up getting parked or sold.

This only applies to the older models with the vintage engines, which are the models which this particular part of the forum is about.
The  newer UCE engine models are more capable in terms of speed, and they have their own forum a couple of categories down from this category.