Author Topic: Oil change interval?  (Read 6442 times)

Rich Mintz

• Grand Gearhead
  • Daily rider in the city
on: June 04, 2013, 09:16:51 pm
I had my oil professionally changed at 600 mi.  Mechanic said next due at 2500.  Now at 3300. What kind of damage risk do I run by exceeding the interval?

I don't really like my dealer (they only sorta deal in enfields) and might do it myself, but realistically that would mean 10 more days and another 200 mi or whatever, since it's my first time and I'd need to get everything. 
Rich Mintz - New York City
richmintz@richmintz.com
2010 Royal Enfield Bullet C5 • 2015 SYM Symba
[/URL]

REpozer

• Grand Gearhead
  • Royal Enfield , Let the good times roll.
Reply #1 on: June 04, 2013, 09:32:14 pm
You can do it Rich !
I recommend you purchase the filter and oil, check to see that you have the right size spanners(wrenches), rags, oil pan..etc.
Read your RE hand book, and...I think someone has a UCE oil change on youtube.

From then on, you can DIY (do it yourself) ...forever.

Enjoy!
2008 ( AVL) Classic Bullet in British Racing Green
REA member # 84  (inactive)

Bulletman

• Grand Gearhead
  • 2011 - C5 Classic Black
Reply #2 on: June 04, 2013, 09:37:12 pm
Rich,
The oil change is easy and uncomplicated, even me being a novice enjoyed doing it. I did my first oil change at 600 miles. Take a look at "singh5g" videos on YouTube, he has done a beautiful job in documenting how its done...I personally don't have a problem going over a few 100 miles before the oil change..also your next oil change should be at 3750 miles not 3300 miles so you should be ok. Mind you this is on the Maintenance workout sheet on the manual as well..
Cheers
"A Blast from my Past"
Black C5 2011

Ekatus Atimoss

• Scooter
Reply #3 on: June 04, 2013, 09:38:34 pm
Hi Rich,