Author Topic: FI Stumble Off Idle  (Read 1649 times)

NH Oldguy

• Scooter
on: May 22, 2013, 11:07:14 pm
My 2009 G5 is prone to stumble coming off idle, or when rolling back on to the throttle after overrunning.  I have confirmed the EFI Throttle Position Indicator supply and output voltages are dead on spec at idle and WOT (thanks to singh5g for his excellent YouTube videos), and idle speed is OK.  The bike has behaved this way since I got it last year with about 2,000 miles on the clock.  It makes it difficult to ride smoothly rolling on and off when cornering, etc.

I have no experience with EFI, but it feels like a carbureted engine does if leaning out briefly just off idle.  Any suggestions for what I might do to improve this situation?  Thanks for any help you can provide.

Arizoni

• Grand Gearhead
  • "But it's a dry heat here in Arizona
Reply #1 on: May 22, 2013, 11:36:17 pm
About the only thing I can think of is that adding some Chevron Techron to a full tank of fuel might clean out anything that is plugging the fuel injector.

The bottle is made for a 12-15 gallon fuel tank so it doesn't take much in our little tanks to do the job.
Jim
2011 G5 Deluxe
1999 Miata 10th Anniversary

NH Oldguy

• Scooter
Reply #2 on: May 24, 2013, 05:43:43 pm
Thanks for the Techron tip, Arizoni.  I'll give that a try.

I'm also wondering if adjusting the TPI to increase its output voltage a bit at idle would cause the ECU to fatten the idle mixture somewhat.  Does anyone have experience with tricks to tweak the ECU map, w/o going the Power Commander route?

barenekd

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #3 on: May 24, 2013, 07:35:00 pm