Author Topic: Fuel question  (Read 3137 times)

ridgerunner

• Grease Monkey
on: May 18, 2008, 12:22:19 am
My local dealer of bio-diesel is going to start carrying Ethanol/Flex Fuel. Will the Enfield handle this fuel?
08 Bullet ES (AVL)
The Enfield saves on gas, riding the Enfield saves on Prozac. ;)

BanditRE

• Bulleteer
  • Use Small Words - I'm an Engineer
Reply #1 on: May 18, 2008, 03:04:26 am
I would have to say no. I'm told (and finding untainted "facts" on E85 use is next to impossible) unless the engine is specially prepared for E85, then it does untold damage to hoses, seals and gaskets and stuff. I'm no expert though. My car runs on it. I've tried corn juice a few times, and it runs ok, feels like it has less power (which it probably does) and gets horrible gas mileage. Like a 20% drop.

As its cheaper to buy than gas, then the mileage loss is offset mostly. You can feel warm and fuzzy about not using as much gasoline, but burning food never seemed quite the best idea.
2007 Military 500ES. 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

LJRead

Reply #2 on: May 18, 2008, 04:00:44 am
You can feel warm and fuzzy about not using as much gasoline, but burning food never seemed quite the best idea.

Good answer, Bandit!  Like that one a lot. 

Kevin Mahoney

• Gotten my hands dirty on bikes more than once -
  • Global Moderator
  • Grand Gearhead
  • Cozy Sidecar distributor/former Royal Enfield dist
Reply #3 on: May 18, 2008, 05:36:01 pm