Author Topic: Just bought new 2011 Bullet  (Read 2366 times)

suitcasejefferson

• Grand Gearhead
on: November 29, 2012, 03:52:59 am
Hello all. I just bought a new 2011 B5 Bullet. I will be picking it up on Saturday. Other than a Sportster and a '66 Bonneville, this will be my first non Japanese motorcycle. I have owned (and worked on, and pushed) a Genuine Stella for several years, so I kind of have an idea of what I am getting into. I am an auto mechanic by trade, but have always wrenched on my own bikes. My first questions are, what is the best way to break it in, and what weight oil should I use in it. I'm in Phoenix, AZ, and it is pretty warm here. I use 20w50 in my other bikes. One other thing. I understand the older Bullets were easy to work on and get parts for (I completely rebuilt the Sportster and Bonneville, and replaced the top end on the Stella) Is this still true for the newer UCE models? Thanks. Jerry.
"I am a motorcyclist, NOT a biker"
"Buy the ticket, take the ride" Hunter S. Thompson

shamelin

• Bulleteer
Reply #1 on: November 29, 2012, 04:39:31 am
Welcome the proud fraternity of B5 owners!

You'll find the B5 is a little unique.  The frame is based on the old Iron Barrel bullets, so fit and finish parts are easier to come by.  I've discovered that when it comes to mechanics, sometimes my B5 is a G5, and sometimes it's a C5 .  Part of the charm...

These bikes are generally pretty easy to work on.  The forum has a wealth of info on modification, maintenance, and repair. 

If you're a mechanic by trade, you'll have no problem with your new bike.  The only experience I've ever had on engines is fixing my Mustang 5.0 back in the early 90's, and while that was probably enough to earn me a PhD in mechanics, I hadn't done anything since.  With the help of this forum, I've taken apart parts of the engine, made modifications to the bike, done every bit of maintenance required, and troubleshooted it when I've had glitches.

To answer your questions: