Author Topic: Fixing Header Exhaust Leak  (Read 8188 times)

jdrouin

• Grand Gearhead
on: October 05, 2012, 04:18:39 am
I have the exhaust pipe (short English model, no PAV) off the Bullet right now because I'm fixing an exhaust leak where the header pipe fits into the head. Going to use Permatex Copper gasket maker to seal it.

I've never done this before, so I'm wondering how you guys would recommend I de-coke and clean the mating surfaces of the exhaust port and header pipe.

Once those are clean and dry, I figure I'll apply the gasket maker generously inside the exhaust port and around the top inch or so of the header pipe, and then re-insert it.

Also, it seems like I might want to remove the brake pedal to make it easier to slide the pipe back on, but I'm not entirely sure how to do that. I undid the screw that tightens the clamp and there are these weird nipple-like things on the ends of the bar that I've never encountered before (on machines, anyway).

Many thanks for any tips you might provide.

Best,

Jeff

Chuck D

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: October 05, 2012, 12:25:33 pm
Hi Jeff,
Fine steel wool and some kerosene and elbow grease should clean up that area nicely.
The permatex copper works pretty well but allow it the full cure time. I'd say wait 24 hours before starting up the bike.
Getting the brake pedal out of the way will obviously help. Just take off the adjusting nut from the back of the rod and slide the rod out from the actuating arm, freeing up the linkage and allowing the brake pedal arm to just flop down out of the way.  Unhook the little spring that pulls the brake light switch as well.
Those weird nipple like things are grease "zerks". You attach the business end of a grease gun to them and fire away.
Chuck.
Ace "Fireball"#10 (Beefy the Bullet to her friends.)
 "Featherbed" frame by Rofomoto.

2017 Triumph T120

jdrouin

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #2 on: October 07, 2012, 02:19:38 am