Author Topic: unstable idle  (Read 4991 times)

jonapplegate

• Grand Gearhead
  • you stand tall when you stoop to help
on: May 20, 2008, 02:16:02 am
Hello all. My idles doing interesting things. Bikes been great but one day Idle just way way too high. kept turning idle down as I rode 'til somewhat normal.  Don't think the cable or slide is sticking. Next morning, fired her up and the idle was too low. Had to move it back up. The day it was racing the Temp. got to 90f. Could it be from tank pressure building up? Or something else?

BanditRE

• Bulleteer
  • Use Small Words - I'm an Engineer
Reply #1 on: May 20, 2008, 03:08:09 am
Could your automatic advance weights/spring be stuck (in the distributor)? Mine did this for a while when it was new. When I came to a stop after riding it would idle high, so I'd let the clutch out with it in gear and slow the engine down. If it stays down after that, it may be your advance weights. They're on springs that are supposed to return the weights to  the center as you slow down, but sometimes.......they don't.
2007 Military 500ES. 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

scoTTy

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #2 on: May 20, 2008, 03:40:26 am
do yoou have that smog thing on your bike..  soorry i forget what they call it and so many are takining it off..   .. cheap rubber hose,,, on mine keeps splitting and then the engine races.. check it out...   I'm about ready to plug it since I'm running out of tubing

Kevin Mahoney

• Gotten my hands dirty on bikes more than once -
  • Global Moderator
  • Grand Gearhead
  • Cozy Sidecar distributor/former Royal Enfield dist
Reply #3 on: May 20, 2008, 04:11:32 pm