Author Topic: Tying bike down to trailer  (Read 3906 times)

mattsz

• Grand Gearhead
  • moto-gurdyist
on: August 20, 2012, 12:36:35 am
I'm posting here, since I know some of you guys already!  If it's not the right place, sorry...  :D

I'm picking up my new B5 next week, using a small trailer.  Can someone advise me about precisely how to strap the bike down?  I've never done this before.

Wheel chock(s)?

Ropes, or ratchet straps?

How many, and where exactly to attach them to the bike, and the trailer, for proper holding power but also to avoid scratching anything?

I assume that pulling the front shocks down is important - I have a buddy who delivered my other bike to me in a pickup... I never saw the arrangement, but I do know he made a 2x4 grid-like chock, tied two straps to the handlebar, one each side at the top bracket, and pulled down tightly to compress the front shocks and attached the straps at the truck bed corners.  Then he just tied the rear end down to keep it from bouncing around, and called it good...

Thanks in advance for any ideas...

Ragmas

• Grease Monkey
Reply #1 on: August 20, 2012, 01:42:05 am
in my Chevy s-10 6 foot bed pick up I do the following.

get bike straight down the middle of bed of truck.
stand bike up on side stand.
put little sling around handle bar just inside from the switch gear without wrapping around any wires or hoses. left side of bike.
attach ratchet strap to front right hand corner tie down point and sling attached to handle bar. DO NOT TIGHTEN ALL THE WAY DOWN.  take up same slack, you want to leave enough slack so that when the bike is standing straight up and down the strap tightens.
move to other side of vehicle. repeat handle bar sling process and ratchet strap.  this time you are going to tighten the ratchet strap until bike stands up and forks compress slightly.  You do not want to bottom out your forks, you could collapse the springs.