Author Topic: High revving  (Read 2057 times)

hocko

• Grease Monkey
on: August 02, 2012, 10:54:25 pm
Hi again. Over the last couple of days I suspected that my G5 was idling higher than usual. Yesterday after getting back from work, turning up the driveway in first gear the engine started to rev to about half throttle, with the throttle closed. I stopped it in the shed and then started it again, same result with the engine revving constantly way above idle. As it was getting dark I quickly checked the throttle cable but could not see any problem. Any similar experiences or thoughts? The bike is an '09 G5 with just under 15000 kms on the clock. It had a full service and check over at 12000 kms. It has been running an indirum spark plug since about 5000 km if that makes any difference.

Regards

Hocko

dynamyt

• So many bikes, so little time!!
  • Scooter
  • I'd rather ride in thunder storms than go to work!
Reply #1 on: August 03, 2012, 02:15:11 am
I'm no expert, but you may want to look for a throttle body air leak. I usually use carb cleaner (or something that will ignite) and spray it around the throttle body in short bursts near any linkage holes or seal areas. If the RPMs go up, it's pulling air and leaking.
Ride Fast, Take Chances
Everywhere I go, there I am...

whoguy

• Scooter
  • Hi... I love all things Beautiful...
Reply #2 on: August 03, 2012, 07:50:39 am
I've had this happen to me.... check the throttle cable.... With the engine off... open the throttle wide open. Then let it close. Start the engine again and see it the idle has dropped back to normal.

With mine, if I turn the handle full to the left, the throttle cable binds somewhere. It is not until I open the throttle a little that it unbinds itself... I suspect it is binding inside the throttle housing of the throttle mechanism of the handle.

Cheers
To ride or not to ride... That is the question!

jartist

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #3 on: August 03, 2012, 03:50:34 pm