Author Topic: Kick Start problem  (Read 14904 times)

R.T Robertson

• Scooter
on: July 20, 2012, 02:45:57 am
I am completely new to the RE owners club and am having an issue with the kick starter not grabbing and making compression. Is it a fluid thing or mechanical issue, it wants to try to make compression with a half stroke then just goes limp.I have tried rocking it back and forth in gear to make it have a little compression and it just gives me a little bite. I could really use some help if anyone knows anything it would be helpful, I am in the dark..

Arizoni

• Grand Gearhead
  • "But it's a dry heat here in Arizona
Reply #1 on: July 20, 2012, 03:10:45 am
Welcome to the RE forum. :)
It would be helpful if you could tell us the year and model and size of the engine on your motorcycle.

The kick starter is mechanical and it drives the engine thru the clutch.
If you are holding the clutch lever in against the handgrip that could explain your problem.

If you are kicking it over without touching the clutch lever it may be something else.

For instance, one stroke on the kick starter lever rotates the engine further than 1/2 revolution.  Often this will include the compression stroke where resistance is felt, to past the compression stroke where the engine will seem to be 'free wheeling".

It is during this 'free wheeling' time that the crankshaft can pick up speed to force the piston thru its cycles and (hopefully) thru the next compression stroke.

On some models there is also a decompression lever that must be dealt with.
Jim
2011 G5 Deluxe
1999 Miata 10th Anniversary

neil

• Bulleteer
  • Neil & Buzzy the Bullet
Reply #2 on: July 20, 2012, 03:19:06 am