Author Topic: Harley Silencer  (Read 12690 times)

Arizoni

• Grand Gearhead
  • "But it's a dry heat here in Arizona
on: June 28, 2012, 07:50:01 pm
As some of you know I was looking for a used Harley muffler for my G5 and not having much luck.  Well, I lucked out!
One of our nice members offered me one so I now have it. (You guys are the best! :) )
I had to buy a clamp and a local Harley shop sold me a used one for $5.00.

As it turns out, the Harley silencer weighs 9 pounds less than the OEM silencer so in addition to the good looks the bike should go LOTS FASTER  ;D

The silencer comes with a stout mounting bracket on the side and this bracket is designed to take 5/16" carriage bolts.  The kind with a short square under their rounded head.
Two 5/16 inch carriage bolts, two flat washers, two lock washers and two nuts later I was ready to go to work.

Being a nurdy engineer I measured the mounting locations used by the OEM silencer and fired up my Turbocad drafting program.
After giving it some thought I decided I wanted to use 2 brackets like the OEM's.  One to the passenger foot peg bracket and one to the forward bracket just behind the rear brake pivot.  Printing these drawings out at close to full size gave me something to compare my parts to so I could get the right offsets.
I used some 1/8" x 1" cold rolled steel from my local Ace Hardware store, a 3/8" drill bit, my hack saw, a vise and a file to cut and form the vertical bracket and I found a piece of 3/4" wide stock in my junk box to make the fore/aft bracket. (shown in photo 1 below)
I painted my new brackets with black Krylon BBQ paint that can take 1000 degrees F so that should last for a long time and protect the carbon steel brackets from rust.

Removing the old silencer isn't too hard but you should know that the heat shield locks into a tab on the exhaust pipe so it has to be removed to get the OEM silencer off.