Author Topic: Super Factory Service Manual Question  (Read 3789 times)

dick_deck

• Scooter
on: June 06, 2012, 10:03:21 pm
Hey all, I just got my "Super Factory Service Manual" and I have to say, it's not very super at all. Keep in mind as I rant that I am a novice mechanic just trying to do my first maintenance.

There are small annoyances, like the bad English... whatever, I was aware of who makes my bike. But what really bothers me is my inability to find service information. The vast majority of the book seems to be "here are the parts, and this is how they come out."

Okaaaaaay. But WHY am I taking these out again?

In my '86 Honda Magna Clymer manual there was a comprehensive Table of Contents which clearly listed the sub-sections of each chapter so I could easily find the repair/maintenance action I was looking for. The SFSM just lists the section of the bike the parts are in for the most part. (I did find the common maintenance section, which was of the most help, but spent most of my time flipping pages and scanning for the key word I was looking for.)

Before I return this $80 fully comprehensive parts catalogue, is this as good as it gets? Is there something better?

Annnnd as long as you've read this far... here's what I couldn't find:

HT Lead (I) - What is it? And what am I looking for when I inspect it?
Engine Sump Filter (C) - What and where?
Spoke Tightness (I) - What am I looking for when I inspect these?
Hand Levers Pivot (L) - What is this?

Thanks in advance for your help and understanding! Cheers!

Ducati Scotty

• Grand Gearhead
  • 2010 Teal C5
Reply #1 on: June 06, 2012, 10:42:32 pm