Author Topic: Total Newbie With Some Questions  (Read 7315 times)

McDude

• Scooter
on: June 06, 2012, 08:32:46 pm
Hi guys,

I've been lurking on this forum for over a year. I'm 24 and I just graduated with my bachelor's degree in nursing. I've been in love with Royal Enfields for years, ever since I saw one when doing an image search on Google for Retro motorcycles a couple years ago. For some reason, I am totally drawn to anything old school. I finally have the means to get my dream bike, and the Enfields are calling my name.

I've been riding dirt bikes since I was 7, when my dad got me a honda 50, so I feel pretty confident in my ability to ride. I also plan on taking a motorcycle class through the local community college soon to learn defensive driving skills for driving a road bike.

Through my research, I've learned that it takes some ability to keep up on maintenance on these bikes. That's not a problem for me. I've got a jeep wrangler with 140K miles on it, and I do most of the maintenance on it myself. Anything I'm not familiar with, my dad and uncle help me with, so I don't have any reservations in that aspect. Enough background on me, though.

I really want a black and chrome C5. However, my dad thinks I would be better off getting a used Harley. Thing is, I'm not a fan of Harley's. I don't like how common they are, and the look of them just doesn't speak to me. By the way, I hate crotch rockets. Sporty bikes are not my thing at all. The RE would be my daily driver for commuting to work and riding around for fun. My question is, would the RE be reliable enough for me. I don't mind the regular maintenance, but I don't want a bike that is going to need me to buy new parts once a month. The closest dealer to me is a couple hours away.