Author Topic: New G5 Military  (Read 4281 times)

idk

• Bulleteer
on: January 09, 2012, 09:14:34 pm
G'day all,

I have been riding Triumph bikes for a few years and currently have an RIII but recently managed to get a new '09 G5 Military to supplement it.  :)  I love the bike and it took a while to find what I wanted but was well worth the journey. I have a couple of questions though.

First, the VIN came up as either a kit vehicle or a state issued vehicle and so my insurance company (Progressive) wouldn't give full coverage insurance. How do y'all get full coverage?

Second, can a 19t front sprocket be fitted to a G5 or is 18t as big as you can go?

Third, is there a way of hooking the ECU up to a computer? I had a quick look but couldn't find an OBDII connecter.

I have been looking through this forum for a while and have found lots of useful info, which helped me in my decision. I hadn't been able to post because some sort of glitch delayed my site registration, but I thank you all for what I have learned so far.
Ego iustus volo meus motorcycle equitare

Ducati Scotty

• Grand Gearhead
  • 2010 Teal C5
Reply #1 on: January 09, 2012, 09:19:52 pm
If you're in the US comtact our host, Classic Motor Works, and ask them to help with the VIN/title.  They import all the Enfields in this country so should be able to help.

Motorcycles have not gone to OBD2 yet.  Each manufacturer still has their own proprietary ECU and connectivity.  Many bikes can work with aftermarket software/connectors from Techno Research but they don't have any for the Enfield yet.  I think the factory sell a computer to hook in but it's pricey and most dealers don't even have one.

Scott

idk

• Bulleteer
Reply #2 on: January 09, 2012, 10:08:23 pm