Author Topic: Customizing a New R.E. from the dealer?  (Read 4130 times)

metalmongrel

• Scooter
on: January 04, 2012, 07:14:55 am
Hi there,

I'm an admitted R.E. newbie, in fact, I'm a motorcycle newbie altogether.  I've never been that interested in bikes before and have stayed in the classic car world all my life, until a couple weeks ago when I saw a Royal Enfield bike for the first time.  I love the authentic retro look and am actually considering getting one (after learning how to ride safely of course). 

That said, I have a few questions about R.E. bikes in regads to how "customizable" they are from the dealer.  For instance, I really like the Bullet Classic C5 bike (especially the teal color).  However, I would prefer to get the longer un-sprung seat so that my girlfriend can ride with me.  I'm also not a big fan of the knee-pads on the side of the fuel tank for cosmetic reasons.  So I guess my question is, if I go to a R.E. dealer, can I order a Classic C5 bike in teal that has the longer style seat (for instance the one that is used on the bullet), zero knee-pads, and hopefully the upwards-angling exhaust pipe?  Or... can I get a Bullet in the teal color (which might be the easier way to go about things)?

If this is not possible from the dealer, how easy would it be to do this using aftermarket add-ons?  Thanks guys, sorry for the newb questions.

-Tom

Chiefharlock

• Bulleteer
Reply #1 on: January 04, 2012, 07:44:22 am
Tom,
Your dealer should be able to get the parts you want and install them.  Keep in mind though it'll cost more than getting the seat and installing it yourself which can be done with a halfway decent metric tool kit. The exhaust system is pretty straight forward.  Keep in mind that the long muffler has a catalytic converter in it so you should hang onto it for emissions testing purposes.

If you can wrench on a classic car, youcanwrenchonanEnfield.

Jason
Ton Up!

Ducati Scotty

• Grand Gearhead
  • 2010 Teal C5