Author Topic: PDI or lack there of  (Read 5289 times)

E North West

• Scooter
on: January 03, 2012, 03:55:39 am
I've been a m/c tech for a long time now - going on 28 years so the following are more inconveniences than anything but oh well.
Here is how my bike was delivered.

Lower engine mounting bolt was loose - protruding 1/2" out the left side of the frame, the nut on the right was still there but barely.

The levers,  particularly the clutch were both positioned a little low and the clutch lever would contact the fast idle cable before I got a full sweep out of it. (neither lever pivot had any lubricant of any kind on then either).

The tail light didn't work, the brake light did however - I reached under the fender to wiggle the wires and found the bulk of the harness outside of the tail light cavity - ready to do a little rubbing on the tire.

The headlight was pointed off to the left and the adjuster screws were not lined up with the holes. When I pulled the headlight to fix that issue,I saw one wire that had it's insulation broken/cracked from rubbing on the back of the headlight ring.

All that stuff and a little more of a going over took about an hour and a half to rectify.
Then I got to ride! Yay fun.........like it a lot and put 80kms on it - on a fine December day in Vancouver - it didn't even rain!

Some of these things the dealer should have caught and some, the factory should have caught - the engine mount being the main one and a little grease on the pivot points goes a long way to a long life.

Pretty fun machine though - nothing at all like the BMW's and Ducati's that I work on all day. In fact, the main reason I bought this bike -g5- was because it is so basic, so easy to get at anything.

Now, hurry up winter and beat it, I got some miles to make!

Ducati Scotty

• Grand Gearhead
  • 2010 Teal C5
Reply #1 on: January 03, 2012, 04:16:22 am