Author Topic: Need Info on this Royal Enfield!!  (Read 2739 times)

JHouse

• Neophyte
on: December 11, 2011, 03:34:07 am
http://www.nlclassifieds.com/classifieds/RecreationVehicles/Motorcycles/Other/750534

I've recently found this bike for sale in my town. I'm no expert on Royal Enfields but this bike has me interested so I'm looking for some information.

First of all, can someone tell me what model this is? and estimated age? It's supposed to be a 350cc from the 30s or 40s but after looking around the net, I think it may not be that old. Maybe in the 50s?

After finding out what it is, can some of you experts give me an idea of what is missing from the bike? Definitely needs cables, light, exhaust and battery and box. But anything else you can tell me would be appreciated. Any estimates on costs of getting it in running order and difficulty of getting parts?

Basically I'm looking for any information or resources I can get on this bike.

Thanks in advance!

DNash

• Idiot
  • Bulleteer
  • '01 Military - "Rocinante"
Reply #1 on: December 11, 2011, 04:17:44 am
Model G or Model CO, I think, and it might be as young as early '50s, but I'd bet on mid-late '40s. I don't know enough to tell you what bits it lacks, unfortunately, but the chaps at Hitchcock's (www.hitchcocksmotorcycles.com) would not only know, but could probably sell or at least direct you to the missing bits. Hitchcock's has a pretty good stock of old Enfield parts - I imagine you could find the great majority of the missing bits there.

The mention of originally having "army green" paint and belonging to the Newfoundland Rangers suggests to me that it might be a WD/CO.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2011, 04:21:14 am by DNash »

Arizoni

• Grand Gearhead
  • "But it's a dry heat here in Arizona
Reply #2 on: December 11, 2011, 05:07:05 am
The earliest Royal Enfield hydraulic front forks shown in "ROYAL ENFIELD- BY MILES THE BEST!" is the 1946 Model G and Model J.