Author Topic: Problems with Kickstart  (Read 1740 times)

Superchuck

• Grand Gearhead
on: December 03, 2011, 02:03:20 pm
So my bike has decided to start being finicky about starting this past week.  It's been parked for about three weeks since we've had pretty consistent rain here in Baltimore.  It feels to me like it's something to do with the kickstarter, as in it's not cranking the engine as well as it usually does.  I skimmed Snidal's section on a slipping kickstarter and troubleshooting it, and it seems like a PITA, so I came on here for a second opinion.  I can usually get it started eventually, but prior to this week it would start first kick every time.  EVERY time.  I find the seemingly sudden decline in startability strange.

One thing that I have very little experience with is the clutch throw-out adjuster.  I "helped" a buddy of mine tweak his clutch throwout to little or no avail last year, but in doing so I learned that it has somewhat of an effect on the kickstarter's contact with the engine as well.  Could this perhaps be my problem?  My shifting has been fine, great actually, with no noticeable change.

Any other ideas of what it could be?  It's not the battery as I put it on the charger to eliminate that variable and the problem persists.  I've never touched my carb since buying the bike from the dealer last february.  Could this be related?  I've also never changed my spark plug since buying it new.  Checked it a few months ago and re-set the gap and it's been generally fine.  Could it be the three week old fuel that I'm burning in the tank?  I hear that stuff degrades quickly, but don't know its actual detrimental effects.  Again, I have a inkling that it's kickstart related, but have no way of telling for sure since my E/S's solenoid is canned.

Thanks in advance!

Heading to a cycle shop today to pick up my new mirrors, so I'll see if they have any solenoids that'd fit my bike.  (lawnmower yeah I know)

Cheers,

Chuck

barenekd