Author Topic: Bullet 2006 Intermittent Electric Starter  (Read 5884 times)

Scott Skinner

• Scooter
on: November 10, 2011, 10:25:37 pm
Hi. I'm new to motorcycles and just got a 2006 Bullet Electra. I love it and just passed my road test yesterday.

The bike had sat in a barn in Ohio for most of it's life with a total of 707 miles on it. I brought it to south Georgia and have put another 300 miles on it. The electric start wouldn't work until I disconnected the kickstand safety switch. Now it works only when it wants to. No difference if warmed up or cold. Push button, ammeter dips about 1/4 to 1/3, headlight dims slightly, but no click or attempt. If I wait a moment and try again, it works fine, sometimes. I fiddle with clutch, kill switch, ignition, and eventually it will cooperate. Weird.

If I jump the posts on the solenoid with a screwdriver, it starts immediatly.

The battery is good and not very old. Everstart 14L-A2 (the 2 is small)

I read the other posts about this sort of problem, but I don't know much about vehicle wiring. I do have a multimeter and know how to check ohms and DC, but if you say a place to check it, I will have to look it up in the service manual.

I am handy with tools and don't mind working on it, but I was hoping someone could suggest a place for me to start.

It was almost impossible to kick start when I first got it about a month ago, so I took the tank off, and drained a good amount of water-laden fuel, then cleaned the tank, fuel filter, drained the carb, replaced the spark plug, and she runs nice (I guess :-\ ). Still difficult to crank even after decompression kicking 10 or so times, then push kick until wheeze sound. It's very stiff. Me 210 lbs, and I can stand on it sometimes, but it seems to be loosening up.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.  :)

The Garbone

• Shade Tree
  • Grand Gearhead
  • User Complaints: 22
Reply #1 on: November 10, 2011, 11:15:37 pm