Author Topic: Missed shifts? The SOLUTION!  (Read 11448 times)

olhogrider

• Classic 350 Desert Sand
  • Grand Gearhead
  • Blue Ridge Mountains of NC
on: August 19, 2011, 09:35:04 pm
As most of you know, my engine was replaced about 1200 miles ago. When I rode with the new engine there were some missed shifts. I attributed them to the newness of the trans as my original one did it a few times too when it was new. It seems to be doing it more than ever. Only in 3rd and 4th. The others are perfect. It seemed to get worse when I switched to full synth oil so yesterday I changed back to semi-synth. I have tried adjusting the clutch cable for more and less slack. Nothing. Any ideas?

I do know how to shift gears. I have been doing it for over 40 years. I tried the pre-load the shifter technique discussed here. I even tried shifting without the clutch with similar results.

Thanks
« Last Edit: September 24, 2011, 05:16:20 am by olhogrider »

Ducati Scotty

• Grand Gearhead
  • 2010 Teal C5
Reply #1 on: August 19, 2011, 10:17:01 pm
Have you adjusted the shifter lever itself?  If it's too high it can often make for missed upshifts.  And are you always riding with the same footwear?  If you switch around it can make a difference.

Scott

jartist

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #2 on: August 20, 2011, 12:05:22 am