Author Topic: Trike R E versus Sidecar R E  (Read 14922 times)

LJRead

on: March 07, 2008, 10:00:54 pm

Well, I've been doing a bit of research on the R E trike and others and thought I would throw this out.  Although I have no experience with either (trike or sidecar) my feeling is that a trike makes a lot of sense.  The advantages seem obvious: 1) more balanced and controllable, 2) more compact, 3) can be built in any configuration a person could want, simple cargo to rickshaw, 4) less problem with cornering (I think), 5) easier to maneuver through tight spaces.

The big disadvantage is that nothing off the shelf seems available, yet, but maybe it should be.  Also may not look as traditional or cool, although there is a long tradition there. Any thoughts or opinions?

BTW: there are some links to R E sidecar photos under the trike discussion in the Vintage Bike section.  Well worth a look.

sasquatch

• Scooter
Reply #1 on: March 14, 2008, 02:51:12 pm
I think a lot depends on what you intend to haul ;D

- sasquatch -
"Never pound with a large wrench, when a smaller one will do."

birdmove

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #2 on: March 14, 2008, 03:21:02 pm
    Man, that dudes wife is a cow!!!

jon
Jon in Keaau, Hawaii

LJRead

Reply #3 on: March 18, 2008, 05:51:40 am
Still doing trike research and what I'm getting is 1) trikes are much more expensive (some are up in the $35,000 range). and 2) they are claimed to be far superior than almost anything in cornering ability - this being for one with independent suspension.,3) in thinking about it, maybe a trike isn't as friendly since the passenger isn't sitting beside you.  If your passenger is like that cow, a sidecar might be fine because cows are about the nicest people!

HRAB

• I should really edit this
  • Grease Monkey
  • Been there, doin' more...God willing
Reply #4 on: March 18, 2008, 06:48:03 pm