Author Topic: Video editing on a Mac?  (Read 3368 times)

olhogrider

• Classic 350 Desert Sand
  • Grand Gearhead
  • Blue Ridge Mountains of NC
on: August 02, 2011, 04:32:44 pm
I am new to the Mac world. I shot some video of our ride on Sunday. Tried to edit it using iMovie but it was very difficult. I finally got it close to what I want, tried to upload it and... NOTHING HAPPENED! I can't even find a file by that name.  ??? Right now I am uploading the raw footage from one clip. Vimeo says it will take 7 hours. I will be on the other side of the country by then. This is frustrating. There has to be a better way.

Any suggestions?

jdrouin

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: August 02, 2011, 05:30:10 pm
Hi Olhogrider,

I have a lot of experience with iMovie. What exactly are you trying to do?

Generally, what you'll want to do is create a new project and then import the video files you want to include footage from. Those files will appear in strips below the timeline. You can click-drag in those strips to extract the footage you want, and then drag those into the main timeline to add to the movie.

Once you've got it edited the way you want, you can export it in .mov or another movie format and select the automatic settings that will optimize it for the web. That will result in a much smaller file size that should take a fraction of the time to upload.

Anyway, let me know if I can help you with anything specific, either in this thread or through a private message. It can be a really rewarding application once you get the hang of it.

Also, if you've already got the movie close to what you'd like, then the long upload time is most likely due to your home Internet connection. Most ISPs provide slow upload speeds, so you should try somewhere that has a more robust connection like an office or a library.

Jeff
« Last Edit: August 02, 2011, 05:33:05 pm by jdrouin »

AgentX

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #2 on: August 02, 2011, 05:38:42 pm