Author Topic: just wondering  (Read 3360 times)

iowarider

• Bulleteer
on: July 05, 2011, 08:15:25 am
I am not a mechanic and can only perform the most basic of service on my bikes. However, the thing I can never figure out is the vast difference in Horsepower and Torque form engines of the same displacement or even larger. Examples.

1982 Honda CX500, it is the first shaft drive, water cooled, V-twin Honda made, or so I have read. Transverse V twin Guzzi style.
Rated Horsepower: 48
Rated Torque 37.

I know a good part of the horsepower was because it was an over square engine and wound to 10,000 rpm. cruised 70 at 7,500

Royal Enfield G5: Rated Horsepower 27 and Torque 37

My Shadow Spirit is a 750 and get this, rated horsepower is actually lower than  my cx500, Rated Horsepower; 44, Rated Torque 46. These are things that make me go hmmmm.
82, Honda CX500
82  Honda GL500
2004 Honda Shadow Spirit 750

Ice

• Hypercafienated
  • Grand Gearhead
  • Ride In Paradise Cabo, Don and Ernie
Reply #1 on: July 05, 2011, 09:00:38 am
The Bullets 90mm stroke does make for some very nice usable torque.

The old drag racers adage of "torque wins races, horse power sells cars" is IMHO true of motorcycles as well.
No matter where you go, there, you are.

prof_stack

• Grand Gearhead
  • Ride carefully - You are invisible.
Reply #2 on: July 05, 2011, 02:48:32 pm
Royal Enfield G5: Rated Horsepower 27 and Torque 37

Those numbers are "ahem" very optimistic for the stock UCE.
A Royal Enfield owner's cup is always half full.

Chasfield

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #3 on: July 05, 2011, 04:52:08 pm
Also, the 1980s were the low point for manufacturers telling fibs about their motorcycle engine outputs. They would always say they had 65 hp, or whatever, just to drive another nail in the coffin of the British motorcycle industry and its 50 hp big twins.