Author Topic: Looking at making the RE switch  (Read 6048 times)

3miler

• Neophyte
on: May 31, 2011, 05:27:08 pm
Well, I've been riding an Eliminator 125 for about 3 years now, and it works great for what I do (in-city commuting, generally short trips).  I'm looking at doing an upgrade though and ever since I started riding I've been in love with the RE styling.  However, I'm looking for some more knowledge from people who actually ride these things, especially as my nearest dealer is about 75 miles from me.

So, without further ado, a few questions:

What kind of gas mileage do the G5's with the UCE engine get (especially in the city)?
What is the effective max speed (I plan on taking it out of the city, but from what I've read I'll probably stick to the US highways rather than the interstates)?
How needy are the bikes for maintenance (I'm all for regular maintenance, but I don't want to tinker with it everyday before I ride)?
How comfortable are they for the rider, and also for a passenger (my wife gets sore on our current bike after about 30 min, and I can't blame her because the back of the saddle is tiny).

Any other advice or features you RErs can think of to tip the scales in favor of a new member of the community?

Ducati Scotty

• Grand Gearhead
  • 2010 Teal C5
Reply #1 on: May 31, 2011, 05:41:02 pm
Mileage tends to be around 65mpg.  I'm getting a little less on my C5, 55.  I'm exceptional and I'm trying to figure this out.

Break in takes about 1500-2000 miles.  Once it's broken in you should be able to cruise comfortably at 55-65mph.  I do 70-75 every day on mine for a short burst on the freeway.  80mph is about absolute max.  It's not confortable for you or the bike doing over 70 for long stretches.