Author Topic: Exploding air filter box and other wonders  (Read 4737 times)

pwsaunders

• Scooter
on: May 25, 2011, 12:42:05 pm
Hey everyone.  This is my first "real" post.  My others have mainly been to ask component compatibility and the such.

Background, I was in Buffalo NY, but took a contractor job with the USAF in Germany.  I am an AF Vet, and had been stationed at the same base when I was in so I had to jump on the opportunity to come back.

Well, two Monday's ago my 2010 Military showed up in all her glory, and barely hanging on with one strap in the crate the moving company shipped her in.  Luckily no breakage.  She's been running fine, other than a minor issue with too much oil being in.  I put in about 2 quarts, as per the advice of CMW (my manuals are still boxed up in my household goods).  I guess that was a bit too much.  Had the overflow into the air filter box.  Twice now.  I feel that even moderate speeds 60 to 65 on the autobahn make her want to vomit oil.   So I bleed off twice, and am hoping this does the trick. Seems to be something that happens, according to other posts I have read.

The real excitment was yesterday when I started her up after leaving her in the driveway for a few hours.  I thought it just backfired, until I heard the whomp whomp whomp of an open air filter box.  Low and behold as I look down, open door, and shattered lock components on the ground.  Anyone ever heard of a backfire out the air intake??

-Patrick

added:
when i was trying to take the nut off to get the filter out to clean the box, the damn thing with bolt twisted and snapped off the bracket!
« Last Edit: May 25, 2011, 01:04:38 pm by pwsaunders »

Andy

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: May 25, 2011, 01:21:04 pm
Yes, that's my airbox in the photo...
2010 C5 Military - "The Slug"

barenekd

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #2 on: May 25, 2011, 05:52:06 pm